Bible · Christianity · encouragement · God · Holy Spirit · life · love · religion

It’s good for me to draw near to God

We may be living in a period where many are forsaking the Lord because they are deceived by the seemingly attractive things of the world, but I thank God that his Holy Spirit in me continues to encourage me to draw near to my Heavenly Father with my whole heart. With his loving persistence, the Holy Spirit sticks with me even when I struggle to keep my flesh in check. It just shows me how much he loves me, for which I will be forever grateful.

Because of that, I can really relate to what the psalmist Asaph said in Psalm 73:26 and 28 “…God is the strength of my heart, and my portion for ever… it is good for me to draw near to God: I have put my trust in the Lord God, that I may declare all thy works.” If I were in the Holy Spirit’s shoes, I wouldn’t be able to put up with me sometimes. Nevertheless, as he prompts me to draw nearer to the Father, he always reveals why he does that. He knows that I need to put my trust in him to live out everlasting peace with my Father and to discover more and more about his ways.

God is ecstatic when he has opportunities to share his secrets  and lessons with me and the more I learn from him to absorb knowledge, wisdom, and understanding, the more it makes me ecstatic that I trust in him and can declare all the wondrous works he has shown me. He truly proves that he is the “strength of my heart.” The really cool thing is that there are such a myriad of ways to declare his countless wonderful works.

Declaring those works can take the form of sharing the gospel of Christ in a direct manner or sharing it in a roundabout way. It can be a personal testimony about how God stood by me in a dark time of loss and suffering, or how God helped me avoid a dark time of loss and suffering. Declaring his works can be about sharing a lesson he taught me in the past, or is teaching me in the present. It may also include sharing something that he prophetically has shown me will happen in the future.

Making a declaration of his works can include exposing evil’s weaknesses and deceptions or sharing an array of historical, natural, scientific, and spiritual evidence to prove the truth of Jehovah’s word. Whatever form we use to declare all the Lord’s works, it only serves to help us and our spiritual siblings trust him even more. To me that’s worth more than anything this world has to offer that they market as being better. The world’s temporary stuff can’t hold a candle to God’s eternal things.

Leave a Reply

