Christianity · End times · God · religion

Jehovah the dragonslayer

We may be living in a time of great apostasy, but I’ve found the more I witness people who claim to be Christian join the dark side, the greater my resolve to remain on the Lord’s side. Part of the reason I feel my resolve strengthening is because of the lack of knowledge and consumption of lies that takes place in the lives of those who forsake God. It’s like they’re settling for way less than what they could have and they’re unsatisfied even when they use lies to fulfill their lusts.

The other reason my resolve strengthens even when I fall short is that Jehovah has such a loving hold on me, I can’t fathom returning to the Enemy. After witnessing all that Jehovah has done for me and around me, how can I choose to live without the hope he has saturated my life with? This was the realization I came to when I recently re-read Isaiah 27. It opens with this powerful passage:

1 In that day the LORD with his sore and great and strong sword shall punish leviathan the piercing serpent, even leviathan that crooked serpent; and he shall slay the dragon that is in the sea.
2 In that day sing ye unto her, A vineyard of red wine.
3 I the LORD do keep it; I will water it every moment: lest any hurt it, I will keep it night and day.
4 Fury is not in me: who would set the briers and thorns against me in battle? I would go through them, I would burn them together.
5 Or let him take hold of my strength, that he may make peace with me; and he shall make peace with me.

This passage begins with “In that day,” begging the question “What day?” This thought is a continuation of the subject started in the previous chapter, Isaiah 26. That chapter ends with prophecies about the saints’ resurrection at the rapture, their dwelling in heaven during the great tribulation, and God’s pouring out his punishment at the great tribulation (Isaiah 26:19-21). So “In that day” is when the Lord will deal with his greatest enemy and ours, leviathan. Jehovah will use his powerful sword of his word (Hebrews 4:12; Revelation 19:15) to defeat the Enemy once and for all.

There are three general things we learn about leviathan (aka Satan) in Isaiah 27 to confirm what we see throughout scripture and in the world. He is a piercing serpent, which describes the destructive effects of his actions on humankind. He is a crooked serpent–a description of his harmful, deceptive methods. He is the dragon in the sea–the sea being a symbol of the world system from which his beast will arise (Revelation 13:1).

When we see Satan lose battles in our day, it is a preview of the day when Jehovah will come to our rescue as the dragonslayer to end him and his evil works so Jehovah can serenade his people, his vineyard of red wine (v. 2 above). This is a parallel prophecy that speaks both of God’s ultimate restoration of Israel and purification of the Church, both of whom will bear 100% pure fruit for him in the end.

Jehovah reveals in verses 3-5 just what lengths he will go to for his people because of his love for them. He guards us, waters us with his blessings “every moment,” and protects us from enemies 24/7/365. Enemies may be allowed to harm us physically, but they cannot harm our eternal life or eternal rewards (Matthew 6:19-20). The briers and thorns (i.e. Satan’s agents) who are planted among us are no match for the Lord and are destined to be burned (v. 4). Unless, of course, they repent by grabbing hold of his strength, calling on the Lord Jesus to make peace with him before it’s too late (v. 5).

May the Lord be forever praised as the one who will slay the dragon for us.

Leave a Reply

