Christianity · encouragement · faith · family · philosophy · politics · religion

Loving God more than family

praying hands on bibleBelievers who have the Christian encouragement of Christian family members are truly blessed to have that. If they have godly wisdom, they can provide godly counsel when we need it. It’s also a blessing when one has a church congregation that provides that also. However, we are living in times when more and more people who claim Christianity are willing to compromise Christian principles and God’s commands, making godly counsel less prevalent than it used to be in regions where it was once commonplace.

In my experience Jesus’ various words of warning to his followers to place him above all or anyone else are being put to the test. When we are surrounded by loved ones who urge us in various ways to turn from a specific path that we know without any doubt God has told us to go down, what will we do? Jesus said the following:

“…a man’s foes shall be they of his own household. He that loveth father or mother more than me is not worthy of me: and he that loveth son or daughter more than me is not worthy of me.” Matthew 10:36-37

“…A prophet is not without honour, save in his own country, and in his own house.” Matthew 13:57

Since the time I began my blog in 2007, I have seen just how real these words have become in my own life. I have had a few Christian friends and several family members suggest that I take down my blog after they found out about it. I’ve also had some of them try to persuade me how I should embrace liberal views on everything from abortion to gay rights to voting only for Democrats.

As you can tell, I just ignore their counsel and continue to embrace what I know to be true based on what the Lord tells me in his word, which he confirms in my relationship with him. To do otherwise would make me a hypocrite. I have found it odd when African Americans, including my family members, praise Martin Luther King, Jr. while at the same time they ignore his words concerning his dream that people “not be judged by the color of their skin, but by the content of their character.” From my vantage point, many of them embrace the racial divides promoted by Democrats, especially when they equate racism with conservatism simply because the mainstream media and liberals told them it was so.

I’m considered the odd one because I refuse to think abortion, gay rights, the politics of envy, and resentful, bitter divisiveness based on lies are okay, when it’s obvious in his word those things are what God hates. In the end, I have come to the conclusion that even if my family members jokingly ridicule my views, the Lord Jesus Christ has done more for me than all of them combined and he is the one who I have to stand in front of to be judged on judgment day.

So I have lined up my ultimate stance with what Christ said in Mark 3:35, “For whosoever shall do the will of God, the same is my brother, and my sister, and mother.” I love God more than I love family related to me by DNA. When it comes to who I consider family, the world may claim “blood is thicker,” but the way I see it Christ’s blood and the Holy Spirit are thicker.

 

2 thoughts on “Loving God more than family

Leave a Reply

