scuba-diving-adventures-used-under-creative-commonsWhen I learned how to swim ages ago, I can remember that after several lessons of learning the basics how the instructor expected everyone in my swimming class to leave the shallow end and dive off the deep end to swim the whole length of the pool. I was hesitant about doing that because diving off the deep end meant that my swimming skills would be tested to their limits since up to that point I had just jumped into the pool at the shallow end. Diving in and resurfacing to swim the whole length was a totally different ballgame. But I eventually made it even though it took me what seemed like forever. The sense of accomplishment afterwards was exhilarating.

In our relationship with Christ, it’s so easy these days to stay in the shallow end of spiritual things. Most churches I’ve been involved with made that the norm. The sad thing is that much of what passes off as being “deep” and “spiritually mature” in so many churches is actually shallow stuff rooted in pride, whether it’s a traditional church or a charismatic one. Sometimes it’s even fake stuff that stops people from jumping in God’s pool altogether. That bothers me. So I’ve gotten to the point that even if a congregation I’m in wants to only give out spiritual baby food and keep people in the baby stages of the Christian walk, I’m not settling for it in my personal time with the Lord or in my own life. Since the Lord’s wisdom, knowledge, and judgments are unsearchable in that they are so vast you can’t find where they end (Romans 11:33) then I want to at least dive in the deep end to discover from him as much as I can before I enter glory, not only for my own sake but also to contribute to the church.

I’ve tried staying in the shallow end before and avoided the deep end because I knew it would require more responsibility and testing my own limits, but like my swimming instructor, God’s Holy Spirit wouldn’t allow me to stay in the shallow end. He just kept pressing me day after day, month after month, year after year to pray, study scripture and dive deeper. So who am I to make excuses to resist his prodding? Instead, I’m embracing it. I might as well since he kept using the following scriptures to remind me I have plenty of room for improvement and expansion in my spirit man:

It is the glory of God to conceal a thing: but the honour of kings is to search out a matter. Proverbs 25:2 (Since believers are kings and priests, honor from the Lord comes when we thoroughly investigate things and their ramifications in the natural and the spiritual.)

He revealeth the deep and secret things… Daniel 2:22 (If God wants to reveal something deep and secret, we should want to know.)

But thou, O Daniel, shut up the words, and seal the book, even to the time of the end: many shall run to and fro, and knowledge shall be increased. Daniel 12:4 (God prophesied knowledge would increase in these last days and we should want in on it.)

But as it is written, Eye hath not seen, nor ear heard, neither have entered into the heart of man, the things which God hath prepared for them that love him. 10 But God hath revealed them unto us by his Spirit: for the Spirit searcheth all things, yea, the deep things of God…12 Now we have received, not the spirit of the world, but the spirit which is of God; that we might know the things that are freely given to us of God. 1 Corinthians 2 (We are in the Holy Spirit and the Holy Spirit dwells in us so we can discover the deep things of God and what he has freely given to us through Christ, so why run from the deep things?)

Lord, as your Holy Spirit calls us into the deep, may we heed the call trusting that you will be with us to explore your treasures every step of the way even when it may not seem like it during a time of testing. May our dive into your deep things edify the church and glorify you.

