Christianity · encouragement · Jesus Christ · life · religion

Following the ultimate Alpha male

When he came to save us from our sins and put us in a right relationship with God, the Lord Jesus Christ showed himself to be the ultimate, most reliable Alpha male of all time. An Alpha male of a group is the leader, the most successful, the dominant one, the one who controls, the one who protects more than anyone else in the group. In Jesus’s case, he does all of those things from a heart of love.golden crown.png

I find that I’m always in my best state spiritually when I let the Alpha be the Alpha instead of trying to step in as the Alpha myself. That holds true for churches also. Nevertheless, our sinful human nature all too often forgets that truth so when we attempt to take his place, he will cause something to happen that will put us back in our place as a reminder of who he is. That’s not always easy take, but at the end of it when I come to my senses, I’m thankful for it since I can get myself in over my head or bite off more than I can chew sometimes. Scriptures like Matthew 11:28-29 and 1 Peter 5:7 are great reminders that he as the Alpha is prepared to do most of the heavy lifting for me.

Jesus Christ as the Alpha also sets the best example for me since a good Alpha not only leads, but shows me how to lead. He’s not only successful, but shows me how to succeed. As a good protector, he shows me how to protect in times of safety or danger.

Since he is anointed to be the head, the beginning, the firstborn from the dead on my behalf so he can have the preeminence as the Alpha in all things concerning me, I’ll step aside and let him have that preeminence (Colossians 1:18). As the author and finisher of my faith (Hebrews 12:2), I’ll be content in knowing he knows what I need before I know I need it. Because he is not only my Alpha but my Omega as well, the beginning and the end, the first and the last, I trust that my times, my years, are in his capable hands as he upholds me in his everlasting arms (Psalm 31:15; Deuteronomy 33:27).

One thought on “Following the ultimate Alpha male

Leave a Reply

