Christianity · encouragement · faith · life · religion

God can be trusted at all times

death-valleyOne of the multitude of benefits that come with having a relationship with the Lord is the fact that he can be trusted at all times. Whether we are in a time of trials and letdowns or in a period of ease, whether in adversity or prosperity, whether we are in a time where it seems God is silent or in a time he clearly makes his presence known, we can remind ourselves of these words from David:

In God is my salvation and my glory: the rock of my strength, and my refuge, is in God. Trust in him at all times; ye people, pour out your heart before him: God is a refuge for us. Selah. Psalm 62

I’ve learned over the years that it’s pointless to try to hide things from God like Adam and Eve did or like evil Cain did. Trying to hide things from him is not only pointless, it’s too burdensome. The Lord already knows what I think, how I feel, and what I’ve done, so I might as well be straightforward and honest with him by pouring out what’s on my heart to him. That’s when I discover a sense of relief knowing I don’t have to bottle everything up inside, but just hand things over to him knowing he can handle it way better than me and he can give me good counsel on what actions to take to resolve a situation that I may not have come up with on my own.

By trusting in him at all times, it has brought me to the realization that “The name of the Lord is a strong tower: the righteous runneth into it, and is safe,” (Proverbs 18:10). Even when I go through the valley of the shadow of death, I know I’ll come out safely on the other side–whether it’s in this life or the afterlife.

The willingness to pour out our hearts and to run to him as our strong tower is a humble, honest assessment of ourselves. We admit our shortcomings. In doing so, we are like the publican who prayed in the temple as opposed to the Pharisee in Jesus’ parable (Luke 18:10-14). There’s no shame in that, especially since it glorifies God in the end.

Leave a Reply

