Christianity · faith · God · life · religion

Confidence to stand firm in the midst of my enemies

tokyo-shibuya-crossing-by-gregg-tavares-creative-commonsChallenges I have faced in life have gotten me down from time to time, but those feelings don’t stick around for long when I continually embrace God’s word and talk to him. I like to remind myself that even with all of the millions of my brothers and sisters in Christ all over the world who may be in more intense dire straits than I may be at any given time (e.g., my life has never been threatened for my Christianity), God still thinks about little ol’ me more than I can fathom. Here’s how David described God’s thoughts about us in the Psalms:

 Many, O Lord my God, are thy wonderful works which thou hast done, and thy thoughts which are to us-ward: they cannot be reckoned up in order unto thee: if I would declare and speak of them, they are more than can be numbered. Psalm 40:5

15 My substance was not hid from thee, when I was made in secret, and curiously wrought in the lowest parts of the earth.

16 Thine eyes did see my substance, yet being unperfect; and in thy book all my members were written, which in continuance were fashioned, when as yet there was none of them.

17 How precious also are thy thoughts unto me, O God! how great is the sum of them!

18 If I should count them, they are more in number than the sand: when I awake, I am still with thee. Psalm 139

Being aware that my Father is aware of me and my situations can lead me to the same type of confidence that David had. When David considered the thoughts God had about him knowing that God really cared and was concerned about him, he drew the following conclusions:

Surely thou wilt slay the wicked, O God: depart from me therefore, ye bloody men. Psalm 139:19

I laid me down and slept; I awaked; for the Lord sustained me. I will not be afraid of ten thousands of people, that have set themselves against me round about. Psalm 3

Many are my persecutors and mine enemies; yet do I not decline from thy testimonies… Thy word is true from the beginning: and every one of thy righteous judgments endureth for ever. Psalm 119:157, 160

David was so confident he refused to be bullied into denying the Lord or denying and forsaking the Lord’s words or caving to enemies’ demands to compromise morals and accept sin. When he did sin, he quickly repented and rushed back to fellowship with the Lord. May we embrace the same holy boldness and wise confidence that David had in God and in God’s word.

One thought on “Confidence to stand firm in the midst of my enemies

Leave a Reply

