Bible · Christianity · encouragement · faith · heresy · religion · wisdom

Having an onward, upward focus in God’s light

door-to-heaven-trongsa-bhuta_81I have to admit that for me, trusting others is not something that comes easily, especially when it comes to who I look to for spiritual, moral, or ethical guidance. I believe since we live in a period of great apostasy in Christendom, it pays to have a healthy dose of spiritual skepticism along with discernment. That being the case, my starting point and plumb line by which I have learned to measure all spiritual matters is God’s word, the Bible. It’s when I brush it aside that I tend to run into situations where I cause myself problems.

I find it disappointing when many in “Christian” churches, whether leaders or pew-sitters, so often (knowingly or unknowingly) despise God’s word and would rather live by what the world tells them is acceptable or live by their feelings or judge truth to be validated only by experiences. This is how church people have found themselves wrapped up in everything from the Alpha Course to Freemasonry to the prosperity gospel and every bad doctrine in between. I even read an article today on how a “Baptist minister” misused the name of the Lord to justify why she murdered her unborn child.

This minister said, “I was far away from family and friends. I had always imagined I would have a second child, and I knew that it would be a struggle on our family financially as well as add to the stress of our marriage, which was starting to fall apart. I didn’t want to bring a baby into the world that would feel it was a burden—and I prayed to God to help me make the best decision I could in a situation that seemed impossible.” It’s obvious she leaned to her own understanding and her own feelings and placed money above human life, then equated those things to God’s advice. Now she wishes to cause others to fall with her ungodly advice.

But thanks be to God we don’t have to be deceived by such nonsense. All we need do is bathe ourselves continually in the light of God’s word to keep our focus onward and upward in heavenly places–looking to Christ. We are surrounded by a great cloud of witnesses mentioned in his word (Hebrews 11) to use as examples along with mature saints who have lived since that time, including the ones who may grace our lives today.

Anyone who walks in spiritual darkness is definitely not someone to take spiritual advice from since Jesus told us, “…he that walketh in darkness knoweth not whither he goeth,” (John 12:35). When we delight in the law of the Lord (Psalm 1), we will not walk in the counsel of the ungodly, nor stand in the sinners’ path, nor take a seat among the scornful (like atheists). Any saint prone to the type of pitfalls I mentioned above, is someone who really isn’t into God’s word or obeying it–to their own detriment. However, I know that God has better things in mind for me as I embrace his light and walk in his light so I can be a light.

Leave a Reply

