How the first 6 seals of Revelation’s 7 seals are an overview of the last days

storm-cloud-with-lightning-used-under-creative-commonsSome parts of the book of Revelation, in my opinion, seem to follow a similar pattern that God established in Genesis. In the same way that God opens Genesis with an overview of how he created the world in six literal days, then goes into detailed specifics about the Garden of Eden and the creation of humans, I believe the first six seals of Revelation give an overview of the last days and God’s destruction of the world, while the seventh seal gives detailed specifics of what happens in the first six. The sixth seal, especially, is a summary of God’s final work to bring everything to an end in the same way the sixth day was the completion of creation.

There are several reasons I believe this, but two of those reasons are:

1) The heavens depart as a scroll under the sixth seal (Rev. 6:14) and we know this doesn’t happen until the very end of the end when God prepares to create the new heavens and new earth (see Isaiah 34:4; 2 Peter 3:10-12).

2) Rev. 6:14 also says the mountains and islands are moved out of their places under the sixth seal, but this doesn’t actually happen until later on in Rev. 16:20 when the seventh angel with the seventh vial pours his vial.

So all of Revelation is not in a linear, consecutive timeline. Here are things I find interesting under those first six seals:

1st seal (Rev. 6:1-2): The rider on a white horse with a bow and crown who conquers is symbolic of Christ conquering the hearts of humans worldwide and punishing his enemies (Psalm 7:11-12; Matthew 21:44) even in the midst of the world’s worst times. White horses in scripture are always associated with the Lord and this opening to the final judgments is encouraging us to remember that Christ is truly the Alpha and Omega who victoriously begins the end times and will end the end times under the sixth seal.

2nd seal (Rev. 6:3-4): The rider on the red horse is symbolic of the violence and bloodshed that will come in various forms, especially when the Antichrist and his forces who promised peace will actually take peace from the earth (Daniel 7:21; 8:24-25). The New World Order with its socialism, Islamism, Freemasonry, Bilderberg, and other conspiracies are just a practice run for what’s to come after the Rapture.

3rd seal (Rev. 6:5-6): The rider on the black horse is symbolic of the famines, plagues, other natural disasters, man-made disasters, and manipulative control (rigged occurrences) that God allows in the world economy to hyper-inflate market prices, especially after the Rapture; but even then he will only allow them to go so far since certain parts of the economy like oil and wine will be unharmed.

4th seal (Rev. 6:7-8): Death and Hell accompany the pale horse to target 25% of Earth’s population with death in a variety of violent and nonviolent forms, including increased animal attacks.

5th seal (Rev. 6:9-11): God’s martyrs slain for their devotion to the Holy Bible and their Christian testimony approach God’s altar to be given white robes as they ask for God’s vengeance on their persecutors. In the midst of their plea, God gives them reassurances and comfort. This speaks to how active Christ’s church will be even during the tribulation, both in heaven and on Earth.

6th seal (Rev. 6:12-7:17): God will bring his final judgments (great tribulation) to their completion with unprecedented signs in heaven and earth, including a great earthquake (Revelation 16:18), a blackened sun and blood moon (Revelation 8:12), asteroids, meteors, and comets (Revelation 8:10-11), etc. To be able to tell these unusual things are happening would require that advances in the sciences would be made in order to monitor them.

Under this seal, the unbelievers will also cower in fear toward the very end as they acknowledge that it’s the Lord Jesus who is punishing them. During the sixth seal, God will also seal 144,000 Jews–12,000 from each of the 12 tribes. Revelation 7:3 tells us that God’s wrath on the earth will not begin until these literal Jews and other believers are sealed.

The fact that 12 tribes will exist speaks of how God will restore the 12 tribes just as he miraculously restored Israel. The ability to distinguish tribes could also speak of some as yet unknown advance that will be made in DNA/genetic testing in the future.

Under the sixth seal, we also discover there will be an innumerable amount of tribulation saints in heaven (Revelation 7:9, 13-14). We also get a glimpse of what life will be like in the new heavens and new earth in the sixth seal (Revelation 7:15-17; see also Isaiah 49:10; Revelation 21:3-4, 23, 22:1). Then starting in Revelation 8 to the end of the book, what unfolds under the seventh seal are the details of what the first six seals (especially the sixth seal) summarize.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Blog at

Up ↑

%d bloggers like this: