Bible · Christianity · encouragement · faith · God · life · religion

In Jesus Christ, I will never be hungry or thirsty again

bible_and_lords_cup_and_breadThere may be plenty of unrest going on in this world, but I praise my Heavenly Father through Jesus Christ that none of that unrest is in my soul–not since Jesus saved me from my sins. Spiritual hunger and thirst drives people to do some very destructive things or embrace deceptive principles in feeble attempts to obtain some meaning in their lives, whether it’s doing good works or going all out for material gain or killing people they hate or getting so frustrated with trying to find life’s meaning to the point of denying life really has meaning at all. Yet Christ’s timeless message of hope has reached beyond all of those obstacles when he said:

I am the bread of life: he that cometh to me shall never hunger; and he that believeth on me shall never thirst. John 6:35

What exactly did he mean when he said that? This is how he explained it:

Labour not for the meat which perisheth, but for that meat which endureth unto everlasting life, which the Son of man shall give unto you: for him hath God the Father sealed.this is the will of him that sent me, that every one which seeth the Son, and believeth on him, may have everlasting life: and I will raise him up at the last day. John 6:27, 40

Once a person comes to the realization that doing God’s will by believing only in his Son for salvation, or everlasting life, is their ultimate purpose in life, they will never hunger or thirst for any other means to obtain eternal life. The fact they will never hunger or thirst again also speaks to the fact this gift of salvation straight from God can never, ever be lost. They will always be in possession of it. Therefore, when they take in and spiritually digest such a satisfying spiritual meal, they won’t fall for any other false spiritual promise of eternal life, whether it be a karmic journey to Brahman, an eightfold path to nirvana, or any other form of fool’s gold.

Every day, I live in the gratitude of knowing the Lord has given me everything and everyone necessary to establish never ending satisfaction to my soul. That’s why I will forever glorify the name of the Lord my God.

Leave a Reply

