Bible · Christianity · encouragement · God · life · religion

The simple way to ensure God is on your side

How can I possibly be sure that God is on my side? Quite simply, it’s by making sure that I am on HIS side. That requires humility to begin with and not being so proud as to equate what my selfish nature wants with what God really has in store for me. The prophets Amos and Micah break it down this idea to its simplest form for us:

Seek good, and not evil, that ye may live: and so the Lord, the God of hosts, shall be with you, as ye have spoken. Amos 5:14

He hath shewed thee, O man, what is good; and what doth the Lord require of thee, but to do justly, and to love mercy, and to walk humbly with thy God? Micah 6:8

He commands me through Amos to seek what he considers good and in case I may be unsure about what good is, he speaks to me through Micah to explain it in general. When I seek to be just (to be fair without favoritism), to exhibit mercy, to walk humbly with my God (which are all aspects of obedience to him), he’ll reveal to me that he is on my side. Walking humbly with him is a display of the special friendship I have with him as I take time to commune with him through his word by his Spirit and communicate with him through prayer even as I go about the business of my day.

Since God is resourceful and has so many ways of operating, my way of being just and exhibiting mercy may look a little different from my spiritual siblings’ way of doing that, but they all will work toward the same goal of glorifying God if we’re doing it properly. Then I can count on God to be faithful to his promise that he will be with me in those endeavors. I’m so grateful to him for that. May his name be praised forevermore.

Leave a Reply

