Ask any individual what they think of Jesus once they hear the gospel and you will get one of two responses. They will view him as the spiritual Rock who is God in the flesh (1 Corinthians 10:4) or they will view him as the rock of offense by denying his deity or denying his existence (1 Peter 2:8). His life serves as a sign “that the thoughts of many hearts may be revealed,” (Luke 3:35).

This dichotomy plays out in all corners of society including within the church itself because of what people think of Christ’s words. God’s word is, of course, above his name (Psalm 138:2) to establish the importance and reliability of everything he includes in his covenant agreement, especially pertaining to the name of the Lord Jesus. Within the very words of God are God’s voice, so that happens to be one of Satan’s main targets for destruction. When one trusts his word, one trusts in him, while denying, doubting, attacking the validity of his word is denying, doubting, and attacking the validity of who Christ is.

swordofspiritThe Lord Jesus not only pointed out the importance of his own words, but also the importance of the words of his apostles by endorsing their words because their words were from his Holy Spirit. We find these concepts in the following scriptures:

Heaven and earth shall pass away, but my words shall not pass away. Matthew 24:35

Whosoever therefore shall be ashamed of me and of my words in this adulterous and sinful generation; of him also shall the Son of man be ashamed, when he cometh in the glory of his Father with the holy angels. Mark 8:38

Jesus answered and said unto him, If a man love me, he will keep my words: and my Father will love him, and we will come unto him, and make our abode with him. John 14:23

Remember the word that I said unto you, The servant is not greater than his lord. If they have persecuted me, they will also persecute you; if they have kept my saying, they will keep yours also. John 15:20

Neither pray I for these [apostles] alone, but for them also which shall believe on me through their word; John 17:20

 Pilate therefore said unto him, Art thou a king then? Jesus answered, Thou sayest that I am a king. To this end was I born, and for this cause came I into the world, that I should bear witness unto the truth. Every one that is of the truth heareth my voice. John 18:37

We are of God: he that knoweth God heareth us; he that is not of God heareth not us. Hereby know we the spirit of truth, and the spirit of error. 1 John 4:6

Many people hate it when I point this out, but since God’s words are so important that Satan attacks them, then why is it that we assume all Bible versions are created equal when men like Westcott, Hort, Nestle, and Aland (who all had the spirit of error that 1 John 4:6 mentioned) gave us the newer Bible versions? Clinging to Bible versions that deny, doubt, and attack the validity of Christ’s words are part of the reason why a spirit of error is in so many churches and in so many people’s lives who claim Christianity but don’t live it.

What do you think of Jesus? What do you think of his word?

Harry A. Gaylord

