Christianity · End times · faith · God · life · religion

What dreams from God may come

As we continue to get closer to the rapture, I’m sure the Lord will be looking for opportunities to speak to his people throughout the world by various means, whether it’s through his word, by words of knowledge and wisdom in our spirit from the Holy Spirit, or through dreams. I’m a firm believer that we are living in the prophesied times of Joel 2:28-29, which says

man sleepingAnd it shall come to pass afterward, that I will pour out my spirit upon all flesh; and your sons and your daughters shall prophesy, your old men shall dream dreams, your young men shall see visions:

And also upon the servants and upon the handmaids in those days will I pour out my spirit.

In light of that, I also believe that we must commit to due diligence to make sure the dreams we think are from God truly are from the Lord. I came across an article entitled “When Angels Appear in Dreams” written last year by William D. Webber, a pastor, where he gives some good pointers on distinguishing dreams that are truly of God from those that aren’t. Here’s an excerpt:

“1. The result of the dream will draw attention to God more than the angel. …

2. The dreams usually leave a person with feelings of awe and wonder and that God is loving. This is true even when the angel appears to a person who is rebelling against God and is deep in sin. The angel may appear to judge and to scare a person straight…

3. Is this dream sensible or illogical? We need to use common sense. While a dream or a vision may come from God and be a positive life-changing event, the dream may also come from images buried in our subconscious. God does not send his angels to tell us silly or terrible things. It is always wise to share your experience with a trusted member of your faith community…

4. Does this dream contradict what is taught in the Bible? God does not contradict himself…

5. Does this encounter leave you more renewed and more resolved to serve God? If is the encounter is genuine it will move you to love God more deeply…”

May God bless you with his sweet, prophetic dreams. May he also grant you the wisdom on if and when to share them with others.

Harry A. Gaylord

6 thoughts on “What dreams from God may come

  1. I absolutely agree. I have had three dreams. I won’t go into details here. The first showed me that God loved me. The second assured me that I would be saved. The third showed me my responsibilities. They came when I had reached rock bottom and in great despair. I had started to pray for help but the prayer changed abruptly from a plea for help to an acknowledgement that His will should be done. I can only assume this was the work of the Holy Spirit. It took many years to come to a fuller understanding of His purpose for me but today I stand in my faith ready to do as He has prepared. Thanks be to God, the Son, and the Holy Spirit for saving such a wretch as me.

    Like

    1. It’s such a great feeling when you realize that the great big God who created the universe and everything in it would actually take the time to let you know in something as personal as dreams that he’s aware of you in your situation and is there with you to help you work it out.

      Like

  2. Hello Harry, i pray everything is well for you. I was just wandering what are Neil degrasse Tyson main arguments, i read some of his quotes and really he is just clinging at straws. but i have not been able to find out much about his arguments against religion or intelligent design

    Like

    1. Nick,

      I haven’t paid a whole lot of attention to Tyson. He’s an atheist who has attacked creationism and intelligent design on several occasions. If you type his name in any search engine with the word ‘religion’, you should get plenty of hits. Here’s what one creationist said about his ‘Cosmos’ show: http://www.rawstory.com/rs/2014/03/12/creationist-slams-neil-degrasse-tysons-cosmos-for-blind-faith-in-scientific-theories/

      Like

  3. Joel 2:28-29 has already occurred, or at least that’s what Peter said in Acts 2:16:21
    “This is that which was prophesied by the prophet Joel: (referring to the things that had already happened when the Holy Spirit had come at Pentecost) In the last days, God says, I will pour out my Spirit on all people. Your sons and daughters will prophesy, your young men will see visions your old men will dream dreams. ……”

    Like

  4. You may not be a believer in Christ but please bear the name of Jesus Christ in mind, ask to be saved now or as your life slips away your last chance is His name, remember this for everyones time has an ending, that ending is just the beginning of a new life. Call on the name of Jesus, repent and be saved. What are you waiting for, you owe yourself the best, take no chances for we have everything to lose. Millions of people know Jesus is the way as He said, so why can`t you find the path? what is holding you back? Ego perhaps?

    Like

Leave a Reply

