Bible · Christianity · deliverance · encouragement · faith · God · life · prayer · religion

God won’t abandon those who are truly his

I read a story today about a lady named Yu Mao who has taken in abandoned children for 14 years. Not long ago, she found an abandoned baby girl on her doorstep who had a cleft lip and palate. When Yu Mao took her in she became concerned when the cleft palate hindered the baby from being able to swallow milk for nourishment. She didn’t want to see the baby die because of the birth defect, so she prayed for the baby girl, asking God for guidance.

Sometime after praying, she heard about CBN’s international ministries and contacted them to see if they could help. They assessed the situation and decided to help the baby girl get surgery to correct her cleft lip and palate. The surgery was a success and Yu Mao named the baby girl “Hai Jing”, which is Chinese for “The Beautiful.

By sharing this story, I’m not endorsing CBN, although their works such as this are commendable. I wanted to use it to give an example of how God looks out for his children even when it seems our darkest hour will last forever. Even when it seems things are utterly hopeless, like there is no one around for us to lean on, and nowhere for us to fit in, when we have confessed and believed in the Lord Jesus, God will always be faithful to walk with us through the valley of the shadow of death. This includes those times and places where we can’t “feel” him or see how he could possibly work out our seemingly impossible situation. If we continue steadfast in prayer out of our trust in God like Yu Mao (who went so far as to pray 4-5 hours at a time), God will bring about our breakthrough when we least expect it.

 
When my father and my mother forsake me, then the Lord will take me up. Psalm 27:10

But Zion said, The Lord hath forsaken me, and my Lord hath forgotten me. Can a woman forget her sucking child, that she should not have compassion on the son of her womb? yea, they may forget, yet will I not forget thee. Behold, I have graven thee upon the palms of my hands; thy walls are continually before me. Isaiah 19:14-16

Let your conversation be without covetousness; and be content with such things as ye have: for he hath said, I will never leave thee, nor forsake thee. Hebrews 13:5

Leave a Reply

